Vegucated and motivated

Every now and then, it’s good to debunk. We humans are gifted at over-complicating things which is why so many truths are lost in translation. So, wanting to learn more about the vegan lifestyle and get my facts straight, I sat down with Marisa Miller Wolfson’s documentary Vegucated. I’ve always been confused about the motivation behind being vegan. Are vegans and vegetarians on the same team? Is it possible to be a good person and still eat meat? When it comes to lifestyle choices, do you have to go big or go home? Vegucated follows three New Yorkers on a 6 week challenge in which they must consciously live as vegans and grow in self-awareness. These average Americans participated for free, hoping to lose weight, feel better, and engage in healthier living. Wolfson’s team provides a sneak peak into their routines, even exposing their refrigerator contents before and after the challenge.

The point is not to chastise meat eaters or attack mass farming operations. I liked that. I appreciated it. At the heart of Wolfson’s film is a desire to make us, the consumers, conscious of what we’re purchasing and how our purchases can negatively impact the natural world. It was also interesting to see the correlations between reduced dairy and processed foods and weight loss, increased energy and lower blood pressure.

I remember sitting in a high school health class and watching Supersize Me, an experience that has ensured I never eat under the golden arches again. What strikes me about that curriculum decision though, is that Americans are slowly but surely waking up to the necessity of healthy eating habits. I think the clean eating revival has been happening under the surface for awhile, but until recently it hasn’t entered mainstream culture. Watching documentaries like Wolfson’s are a sure sign of better things to come for the U.S. in terms of dietary decision making. Obviously there are still massive hurdles – namely the huge demand that keeps large corporations in business and the cost of organic produce higher. But someone very wise once said to me, “Do not despise the day of small beginnings.”

What small beginnings are you going to embrace today?

Check out getvegucated.com for more info on the film!

4 thoughts on “Vegucated and motivated

  1. I gave up dairy when I found out my daughter was affected through my breast milk..I became educated and realised that actually it is not necessary and potentially very bad for us, so I never intend to go back. It wasn’t until after this I watched vegucated and decided to go full on vegan! I didn’t eat much meat so didn’t think it would be too hard. I do slip up with the meat sometimes, but I always buy organic, and I admit to eating eggs every now and then too, again only organic. For me I do as much as I can because of the cruelty by eating hardly any meat, but dairy is more important to me because I strongly believe it has negative effects on our health, and the dairy industry is so disgusting, I don’t understand how vegetarians claim to not eat meat for the sake of the animals but happily eat milk, cheese and yoghurt produced by cows that are being tortured! Loved Vegucated though, I think it should be shown in schools to teach the truth and help people make better choices! (also I wrote a post about dairy if you are interested… http://grownathomewithlove.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/holy-cow/ )

    • Thanks Vanessa! I will definitely check out your post. I’m currently trying to start cutting back on my own dairy consumption. I have so many friends that are lactose intolerant and I have to wonder what it’s doing to my system. I also just feel so heavy after dairy intense meals. I’m glad you enjoyed Vegucated – spread the word!

Leave a Reply

