Fresh faced and beautiful

I was at a community supported art event several weeks ago and someone stopped me to comment on my complexion. “I just wanted to say, you’ve got beautiful skin. Make sure you take care of it!” Of course I thanked her profusely, but internally I was giving all the credit to good genes because I am terrible at nurturing my skin. I remember flipping idly through a People magazine in 9th grade and reading the words of some flawless celebrity like Eva Mendes or Rachel Bilson. Whoever she was said that no matter what hour she rolls in after a party, she will not go to bed without washing her face. I’ve stuck by that principle, always being sure to remove whatever the world’s thrown at me before hitting the pillow, but as far as makeup products go, I err on whatever is most convenient. This has proven useful in terms of routine – I can get the whole package ready in under 5 minutes – but the quality (and safety) of my products is shameful.

I spent some time exploring Iliabeauty.com today and enjoyed learning more about their ethics. Sold at select retailers, they began with a distinct line of lip-care. Packaged in recycled aluminum and featuring organic ingredients, these lip conditioners became the foundation of Ilia. If I were going to indulge in one of their products today, I’d be tempted by Come Undone, pictured below. This lipstick crayon is a nice nude colour and contains sesame, rose hip and papaya oils.

Come Undone

In case you needed more excuses for spoiling your skin, Ilia products are cruelty free, gluten free and USDA certified organic.

I also discovered Clementine Fields. Founder Ingrid realized after a leukemia diagnosis in 2007 that she wanted to be more intentional about what she put in and on her body. Having conquered cancer she and her husband began conquering makeup, replacing damaging products with their own lines.

Clementine Fields’ mattifying powder looks like the perfect splurge item. If you’ve got a bigger makeup budget, be sure to check out their foundations, too.

cotton softness 01

Clementine Fields also has a collection of scrubs, sunscreens, bath and body products and balms. They’re a full service operation!

When hunting for an all natural eyeshadow, Juice Beauty hooked me. Here’s a blurb from the website that describes part of founder, Karen Behnke’s, mission: “Juice Beauty offers award winning, antioxidant-rich and clinically proven skincare, makeup and hair care products that meet the most stringent organic regulations in North America supported by solid eco-values that include purchasing locally from West Coast certified organic farmers and manufacturing strictly in the U.S.A. with solar power, utilizing recycled containers and printing with soy ink. Juice Beauty also gives a percentage of profits to five chosen charities every month.”

The champagne eye colour and exfoliating cleanser were two products I put on my wishlist.

Illuminating Eye Color TrioExfoliating Cleanser

How are you kind to your face? Are their products you swear by? Which ones will you splurge on? Comment below!

3 thoughts on “Fresh faced and beautiful

  1. I cannot agree with you more, removing makeup before bed is so important to keep the skin looking fresh! I have been obsessed with removing makeup with micellar water lately, have you tried any? 🙂
    I’m a new Irish blogger and I’ve been really enjoying the content of your blog. Maybe we can follow each other? I would love to share my thoughts on makeup with you!
    Cecilia x

Leave a Reply

