It’s all in the fine print

Being kind to the planet starts with me, myself and I. There are days when I am friendlier to this world than others, and aside from the fact that I left the light on in the bathroom at my local hang out, Central Coffee yesterday (sorry guys), May 8th was a relative success. Then I got to thinking. Reducing the toxicity of my global footprints is a noble endeavor, but what happens when I have a family and life gets busy? Granted Prince Charming and kids are far, far, far away, but how will I, as a matriarch, ensure my family cares about Operation Protect Earth?

I did some rooting around and discovered people far wiser than I have already engineered a game plan: green picture books. I am a firm proponent of the power of education, especially in the form of books. Not only does reading with children encourage their development, it gets them excited about creatively engaging with their environment – be it the backyard or the classroom or the great beyond.

Here at Cayisa we talk a lot about seed planting. By purchasing or checking out these children’s books and reading through them with your kids, the families you nanny, or those pesky cousins who need occupying, you’re planting seeds of the metaphorical variety. If we introduce kids to these issues now, perhaps we can cultivate within them a greater sense of empowerment that will impact how they solve future problems.

So, what are the top titles in children’s lit with green morals*?

1. The Lorax: Dr. Seuss

(I can hear a voice from the 60s whispering, “Respect the classics, man.”)

2. Our Big Home: Linda Glaser

(This one has lovely illustrations.)

3. Charlie & Lola – We are Extremely Very Good Recyclers: Lauren Child

4. The Green Mother Goose: Jan Peck

5. The Curious Garden: Peter Brown

6. Good night, laila tov: Laurel Snyder

(This one does double duty with Jewish heritage included.)

7. The Butterfly’s Treasure: Schim Schimmel

8. Rotten Pumpkin – A Rotten Tale in 15 Voices: David M. Schwartz

9. When Santa Turned Green: Victoria Perla

(Christmas in July never hurt anybody.)

10. The Giving Tree: Shel Silverstein

Hopefully this list has you bonding with your inner bookworm. Read any of these titles? Comment your thoughts!

*Ranked in no particular order, pictures from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

