Benefits of Chia Seeds – My Experiment- Week One

chia seeds final

I just wrapped up week one and I am feeling good!  I eased into my new chia routine on day one with a Suja brand organic juice. For those of you who haven’t checked out sujajuice.com, I strongly urge you to do so (when you are through here, of course). I could go on for days about this delicious juice company but that’s a topic for another day. I am not exactly sure how much chia was in the bottle, but I was very familiar with the brand, so naturally I was a bit more trusting of the quality. The second day I headed to the Whole Foods Market to search for the perfect Chia seeds. To my surprise, the chia products were located in the vitamin section near the hemp and cacao. For the second surprise of the day, I also soon discovered that chia seeds and all of its versions are incredibly diverse. After some personal debate, I decided to play it a bit more simple and selected the 365 (Whole Foods) brand. I chose this variety for three reasons. First, it was certified USDA Organic, check. Second, it was the most economical choice for the amount purchased, double check. Lastly, the store clerk that was assisting me strongly recommended the brand. Sold.

My findings for this week- Week One

 Pros-

I was able to incorporate these little seeds very easily into my diet because they have very little, to no taste. You do need to account for the fact that they do absorb a large amount of liquid. So be sure to add a bit more liquid to your shakes and smoothies if you wish to incorporate them that way. The recommended serving amount per day is 1 tablespoon. I would start off with half of that amount, until you know gauge your own sensitivity to them. I tend to think that I live a modestly healthy lifestyle and I have a very accurate self-barometer. So, as of now, I have not truly noticed any considerable changes (physically or mentally) but I have really enjoyed researching these little guys, and I am enjoying adding them to my diet. I am confident that these little guys will soon start to show me what I have been missing. They are just chalk full of so many healthy things, how couldn’t they?

 Cons-

Make sure and read the label. I didn’t realize I needed to refrigerate them after opening, and they sat for a day or so before I noticed. Unfortunately, I had to make a second trip to Whole Foods, but I always err on the side of caution. Some brands come in individual serving packets that are sealed so they can be left out, but I would read the label carefully to be sure. On day 3, I decided to add chia seeds to my morning oatmeal, since I am constantly running into recipes that feature oatmeal and chia. Adding the chia seeds into my quinoa oatmeal was a bit too much fiber for my system to handle. Let’s just say I won’t be trying that exact combination again. Perhaps I will reduce the amounts of chia and quinoa, stayed tuned on that one.

 Side note-

I noticed in my research that many people recommended to NOT buy chia seeds that are made in China. I am not exactly sure as to why, but in my research it seemed to point towards poor food quality standards and a strong presence of GMO based plants in much of their foods.

I have only scratched the surface with this experiment. At Cayisa, we are not claiming to be health experts, but rather, we are committed to exploring new and healthy ways of living and we promote the importance of educating each other.  I would love your feedback and thoughts on chia seeds and how you use them.

Recipes

Chia Green Smoothie_version 1 Chia Green Smoothie

1 cup vanilla almond milk unsweetened

1 handful of organic greens (I like Spinach and Kale)

½ cup of organic frozen mango chucks

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

1 teaspoon of organic raw agave sweetener (optional)

Blend and drink immediately before the chia seeds absorb and make it too thick.

Chia JamCHIA JAM version 1

Juice from ½ a lemon

2 cups of blueberries

1 tablespoon organic raw agave sweetener

1 tablespoon of water

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

Add to Blender so all ingredients can mix together and then pour in a glass container with a lid and refrigerate for 1 hour. Serve on toast or add as a sweetener to yogurt.

Leave a Reply

