Benefits of Chia Seeds – My experiment

chia seeds final

If you go online you will see an abundance of articles on Chia seeds, the new “Superfood”. My Pinterest account is filled with recipes, blog posts and pictures of these little black and white seeds. As the world of nutrition always seems to be changing, it’s hard to know what is and isn’t good for us. When I first heard about Chia seeds, I was told that if you add them to your meals daily that they will fill you up faster so you wouldn’t consume as much food. Now it seems that Chia seeds do everything from fighting diabetes to improving heart health.

As I asked around I found that many of my health conscious friends do not use chia seeds and do not know much about them. So here is the current research I have gathered on Chia seeds.

Yes! They are the same as seeds used for Chia Pets

Chia seeds where made famous in a much different way in the 1980’s. We will never forget that wonderful commercial for Chia Pets. These adorable animal shaped vases would grow a beautiful green coat in only 2-3 weeks.

They come from Mexico

Salvia hispanica, comes from the mint family and is located in parts of Mexico and South America. Historians claim that Chia seeds were used by the Aztecs, for their many health benefits. In fact, they were so valuable to the Mayans that it was used as a form of currency.

 Health benefitschia seeds bag final

Chia seeds are high in fiber, protein, antioxidants, minerals, and omega 3’s. They help hydrate the body, regulate appetite, support strong bones and teeth, stabilize blood sugar, and lower cholesterol. They are naturally gluten free as well.

How to use them?

Chia seeds can be purchased in a powder or a seed form. They absorb liquids and can be used to thicken foods like smoothies, breads, sauces, or oatmeal. They can also be used as an egg replacement. The powder form acts as a flour substitute for baking. If you have whole Chia seeds and want to make them into a flour base, you can use a coffee grinder to grind the seeds into a powder form.

My experiment

When adding something new to my diet, I always try to do the research to make sure it’s not “too good to be true”. I was a bit skeptical as I started researching chia seeds because a good amount of the findings I read made me ponder the following question: if these seeds are so incredibly healthy, why are we now just finding out about them? So with this thought, I have decided to start my own quest over the next four weeks to learn the truth about these little seeds. I will experiment and explore fun tricks, recipes, and personal ideas about how they have worked for me. I am looking forward to sharing all the different ways that you might want to start incorporating them into your diet and every day life.

I would love to hear any ideas or thoughts that you have to share.

 

Additional reading and Sources:

http://navitasnaturals.com/product/445/Chia-Seed-Powder.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/06/03/chia-seed-benefits-_n_3379831.html?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ee5igTsZp0E

Leave a Reply

